Symposium "Architecture Attracts Visitors"

Image
 

The research paper „Architecture Attracts Visitors“ examines the correlation between architecture and profitability in the tourism industry. The Federal Ministry of Economics and Labour (Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Arbeit), Austrian Federal Economic Chamber (Wirtschaftskammer Österreich) and the Tourism Institution for the Federal State of Vorarlberg initiated the research paper. platou – planning and architecture in tourism developed the concepts and undertook the research for the paper. The results were presented during a congress in Bregenz.

For the empiric part of the study, platou surveyed 300 pioneers in tourism architecture across all nine Austrian federal states. 49 of these were selected and analyzed in detail.

Can contemporary architecture be profitable?

Yes, they are highly profitable. DI Bibiane Hromas revealed in the paper that in 88% of the cases the investment in contemporary architecture has proven to be profitable as stated by the managers and owners of tourism institutions. More than half of the surveyed managers (51%) stated that their businesses’ profitability lay above the industry average. Only 7% of the businesses presented figures that were below the industry average.

Does architecture attract new visitors?

Our research confirmed the thesis that architecture attracts new visitors. Contemporary architecture is a means of acquiring new visitor target groups. Besides that, it is also an important marketing criterion. Contemporary architecture can be used to actively establish an identity, which in turn facilitates PR and communication activities. 97% of the surveyed businesses affirmed that the contemporary architecture serves them as a means of differentiating the business from competitors. 95% believed to be more appealing to new visitor cohorts.

Mag. Christian Schützinger, managing director of Vorarlberg Tourismus confimed that new architectural concepts are not only valuable to individual businesses for establishing a good image, but they may also revive a whole region by attracting more guests. Vorarlberg is the smallest, however most innovative federal Austrian state in the field of tourism architecture; it can be seen as a pioneer that has successfully integrated tourism architecture it into its marketing mix.

Should tourism experts involve in architectural planning?

DI DDr. Nikolaus Thaller (platou, ATP, Planungsbüro-GmbH) lectured about the architectural planning processes of tourism projects. It is essential for tourism planners to take time to reflect on their needs and wishes for a specific project in order to save time and costs during the planning process. It is best for tourism experts to stick to the field of tourism and to delegate planning processes to qualified and experienced architects. However, these should be carefully chosen to ensure that the architect respects the initiator’s visions for the project.

Is tourism architecture a matter of taste?

Prof. Dr. Felizitas Romeiß-Stracke (Plattform für Tourismusarchitektur, Technical University of Munich) discussed this question during her speech. Changing life styles in Western societies led to a movement from fun societies to societies of bon vivants. “Good taste” has become a determining factor in tourism. Hotel and destination managers need to be aware of these changes in society and need to respond to these and adapt their tourism and hospitality concepts in order to focus on specific visitor cohorts and to attract these by adequate marketing campaigns.

Is architecture significant for the brand and communication processes?

Mag. Brigitte Weiss (markenbüro weiss, Vienna) discussed contemporary architecture’s significance for the brand and communciation processes. As an expert in the fields of branding and communications, Brigitte Weiss concluded that architecture is the most visible and sustainable; however, also the most costly form of a brand. Well designed brand architecture provides a distinctive character to the tourism product, it creates an impression and individuality. As a tangible part of a business’s corporate identity, architecture embodies the company’s visions, values, culture and competencies. It is the fundamental instrument to communicate the product, it draws attention to the product and it may stimulate discussions within media.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION, PLEASE CONTACT:

platou – planning and architecture in tourism
DI Bibiane Hromas
T +43 (0) 699 / 19 23 96 09
This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it


Vorarlberg Tourismus
Kerstin Mangard and Thorsten Bayer (PR)
T +43 (0) 5574 / 425 25-0
www.vorarlberg.travel


Programm des Symposiums Architektur macht Gäste (PDF 1,2 MB)


To the hosts of the congress:
Thank you for enabling the interesting discourses between architects and tourism experts!

Mag. Christian Schützinger

Mag. arch. Marina Hämmerle

DI Bibiane Hromas



Image

 
 

Last Updated ( Friday, 16 October 2009 )
 
© 2019 pla'tou - plattform fuer architektur im tourismus
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.

Symposium AmG

                          Image

Den Zusammenhang zwischen Architektur und Wirtschaftlichkeit im Tourismus untersucht erstmals die Grundlagenstudie „Architektur macht Gäste“. Auftraggeber der Studie waren das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Arbeit, das WIFI Unternehmerservice der Wirtschaftskammer Österreich und Vorarlberg Tourismus. Konzipiert und durchgeführt wurde die Untersuchung von pla’tou - plattform für architektur im tourismus. Bei einem Symposium in Bregenz wurden die Ergebnisse präsentiert.

Im empirischen Teil der Studie wurden 300 Architektur-Vorreiter aus allen neun Bundesländern schriftlich befragt. 49 dieser Unternehmen wurden besucht und näher analysiert.


Rentiert sich die Investition in gute zeitgenössische Architektur?

In einem hohen Maß, wie DI Bibiane Hromas, die Verfasserin der Studie, bestätigte: Für 88 % der befragten Betreiber und Eigentümer hat sich die Investition in anspruchsvolle Architektur insgesamt rentiert. Mehr als die Hälfte der Befragten (51 %) gab an, dass ihre wirtschaftlichen Kennzahlen über dem Branchendurchschnitt liegen. Nur bei 7 % liegen sie darunter.

Bringt neue Architektur neue Gäste?

Auch diesen Aspekt bestätigt die Studie. Zeitgenössische Architektur erschließt neue, einkommensstarke Gästegruppen. Zeitgenössische Architektur ist außerdem – wie 80 % der Befragten bestätigten - ein wichtiger Marketingfaktor. Sie gibt der Marke Profil und erweist sich als deutlicher Vorteil in der Kommunikation und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit. Für 97 % der Befragten hat sich die Erwartung der Differenzierung von Wettbewerbern erfüllt, für 95 % die Erwartung, nun für neue Gästeschichten attraktiv zu sein.
Dass neue Architektur Betrieben wie auch Regionen neue Gäste bringt und das Image schärft, bestätigte Mag. Christian Schützinger, Direktor von Vorarlberg Tourismus. Vorarlberg ist in Österreich Vorreiter und setzt zeitgenössische Architektur auch im Tourismus strategisch ein. Sie ist ein wesentlicher Bestandteil im Marketing des kleinsten, jedoch in diesem Bereich auf jeden Fall innovativsten österreichischen Bundeslandes.

Tourismus macht Architektur

Im Vortrag von Herrn DI DDr. Nikolaus Thaller (platou, ATP-Planungsbüro-GmbH) wurde dieser Aspekt des Bauens genauer betrachtet. Das BauherrInnen sich genügend Zeit zum Planen nehmen müssen und wissen, was sie wollen ist die beste Voraussetzung um Baukosten und Bauzeit in den Griff zu bekommen. Erfolgreiche UnternehmerInnen konzentrieren sich auf ihre (ur)eigenen Tätigkeiten. Sie übertragen die gesamte Planung und Abwicklung des Bauprojektes an-sorgfältig ausgewählt ("die Chemie muss stimmen") -ArchitektInnen als GerneralplanerInnen.

Ist Tourismusarchitektur eine Frage des Geschmacks?

Diese Frage erläuterte Prof. Dr. Felizitas Romeiß-Stracke von der Plattform für Tourismusarchitektur, TU München. Mit der Ablösung der Spaßgesellschaft durch die Sinngesellschaft verändern sich die Lebensstile der Menschen in den westlichen Gesellschaften. „Geschmack“ gewinnt auch beim Urlaubs-Ambiente eine beutende Rolle. Diese Veränderung und Ausdifferenzierung der Lebensstile zwingt jeden Hotelier und jede Destination dazu, sich in der Auswahl der potenziellen Gäste zu beschränken und auch ästhetisch (nicht nur im Marketing) zielgenau zu arbeiten.

Welche Bedeutung hat Architektur für die Marke und Kommunikation?

Damit befasste sich Mag. Brigitte Weiss (markenbüro weiss, Wien) in ihrer Präsentation. Die Markenexpertin kommt zum Schluss, dass Architektur die sichtbarste, dauerhafteste und kostspieligste Manifestation einer Marke ist. Gute Markenarchitektur verleiht dem touristischen Angebot Charakter, Aura, Einzigartigkeit. Als gebaute Identität verkörpert sie Vision, Werte, Lebensstil und Kompetenz. Sie ist zentrales Instrument der touristischen Angebotsinszenierung, bringt Aufmerksamkeit, wird zum Gesprächsstoff und zum Thema von Medienberichten.


KONTAKT UND INFORMATION

platou – plattform für architektur im tourismus
DI Bibiane Hromas
T +43 (0) 699 / 19 23 96 09
Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spam Bots geschützt, Sie müssen JavaScript aktivieren, damit Sie es sehen können

Vorarlberg Tourismus
K
erstin Mangard und Thorsten Bayer (PR)
T +43 (0) 5574 / 425 25-0

www.vorarlberg.travel

Programm des Symposiums Architektur macht Gäste  (PDF 1,2 MB)

Für die VeranstalterInnen:

Wir bedanken uns für die anregende Diskussion zwischen Tourismus- und Architekturfachleuten!


Mag. Christian Schützinger


                     Mag. arch. Marina Hämmerle


                   DI Bibiane Hromas


Image
 


Letzte Aktualisierung ( Friday, 16. October 2009 )
 
© 2019 pla'tou - plattform fuer architektur im tourismus
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.